Marriage, Year 18

IMG_9586Today, 18 years ago, I said: “I Do”. It was a hot summer day in late August. What was I thinking, and to top it off it was in Charleston SC. The venue that we choose was a beautiful little chapel in the downtown section of Charleston. We were young and had no clue to what God would have in store for us in the future. All we knew was that we loved each other and felt that God put us together for a reason.

The weekend started off with family and friends coming in from out of town and the weather was just gorgeous, my best friend and her boyfriend came in from Illinois and wanted to go to the beach. The four of us went to the beach the day before the wedding, looking back now that was probably a mistake; or maybe the mistake was not having sunscreen. Whichever, Todd and I got so burned that we glowed. The next day when it was time to dress for the wedding, my pretty ruffle dress hurt my skin. I could barely walk let alone bend over and get my shoes on. I managed with as little pain as possible, and we left for the chapel.
As we were traveling down interstate 26 we encountered a traffic accident, that was causing a delay of course. All I could think about was that I was going to be late to my own wedding. We ended up getting there in the nick of time, I arrived at the chapel entered the back and waited for the music to begin. I was so nervous my body was literally shaking, I thought I was going to faint right there. My dad took me by the arm and away we went down the aisle. It was not a very long walk, but to me, at the moment I felt I was walking miles. I looked up and saw my family and friends all looking at me as I was shakily walking down the aisle; wondering if I was going to trip and make a spectacle out of this whole thing. I saw my groom standing there smiling and a glow from his eyes sparkled. I knew what I was doing was the right thing, I was just so nervous. The ceremony was perfect, we said our vows in front of family, friends, and God. I meant them then, and I still cherish the vows I took. I work hard daily on my marriage, some days it is hard as hell, others are easy. wedding 1999

Todd and I have not had a fairy tale marriage, we have had rough waters that we have crossed, tough times, separations and issues with the children. I feel that a marriage is God’s creation and that once you say “I Do”, then you should do all you can to fix anything wrong. Do not give up easily. “What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate” Mark 10:9.

I am in no way saying that if all is done to your power and there is no other way than that is between you, your spouse and God. I am not judging. I just know for me I work daily on trying to keep my marriage stable.
Each year, in my world, is special. 18 years is a lot of time together, and I want to cherish each moment that I have with him. As our children grow and move on one day, it is just going to be the two of us. Life is short.

So as  I celebrate my anniversary  I pray that I will have many more with the man I love with all my heart.

Leave a Reply

